Some vegans avoid honey and, for this reason, alternative sweeteners like agave are use more by vegans.
Agave is a liquid sweetener, similar in consistency to maple syrup. It is from the same plant as tequila – the agave plant. Like maple syrup, it comes in a few varieties from light to dark with the lighter versions having a milder taste.
Agave is a great sweetener to top off oatmeal.
« Back to Glossary Index